The recent series of storms to come through the Gulf region have caught even some of the most seasoned residents off-guard when it comes to making insurance claims. In the wake of these storms, Texas residents statewide have encountered a wide variety of problems when making their claims. It’s important to understand the state laws that fall into play when making your damage claim in order to make sure you get everything entitled to you from your insurance company.
First, under Texas law, insurance companies normally have 15 days to begin their investigations to a policyholder’s damages claim. However, in the event of a natural disaster like a hurricane, Texas’ insurance department can extend this deadline to 30 days. While investigations may take as long as the insurance company sees fit, the company has 15 days to make a decision regarding the claim (30 days in the event of a natural disaster). In the events of an accepted claim, payment is to be made within five days.
When making your claim, make sure to maintain a journal or diary of dates related to what you send your insurance company. Keep a copy of every correspondence for your records and make sure to follow up quickly with any information requests the insurance company may send you.
If you feel the insurance company has not adequately met the deadline requirements or that your claim is not being handled correctly, call the Berniard Law Firm for a consultation Toll-Free at 1-866-574-8005. Specializing in first-party insurance claims, the Berniard Law Firm will defend your rights against your insurance company.